Implications of The Internet of Things

By 2020, there will be over 200 billion connected sensor devices (Russo 2)…freaked out yet?

Mark Donnellan describes The Internet of Things (IoT) as “Essentially it’s not just connecting devices, it’s about connecting people and processes as well to the internet, so you can improve productivity and either decrease costs or increase revenue in some shape or form. It’s really a business solution” (Internet of Things).

Donnellan sees the IoT as a “business solution,” I see it as a total invasion of privacy. Although, the IoT does create a lot of cool new ways to connect not only your personal life to the devices around you, but your work life is synced in as well. My favorite feature the IoT offers is the fact that I can link up the music from my phone to the speaker across the room just by bluetooth connection. Now I don’t even have to get out of bed to start blasting my new favorite song for all my roommates to hear.

So what’s the catch? If the IoT can connect all the music from my smart device to the speaker across the room, what other data can it transfer?

Despite the fact that i’m super lazy and the IoT provides many new ways for me to keep that reputation, I can’t help but wonder how the implications of this sweet offer will affect me. Knowing that all my data is being collected by these devices and the companies creating them is a little unsettling. I don’t know about you, but I like my private issues to stay PRIVATE and with all of the information that is being gathered by the IoT, I just don’t think privacy will be possible in the future.

For example, I made a new gmail account last week and upon signing up it asked me for my telephone number to share with all my contacts on my email list. The very reason I even created that email account was to connect with people I don’t want to have my private phone number. The world is growing in technological intelligence everyday, and for someone as old-fashioned as me, that’s pretty freaky.

This totally got me thinking about the future and how this new technology will play a role in my life. Will texting be the new email?  Will my boss be texting me at 1am to add to my work load, because she knows she can? Will apple finally have a copy of my social security card? (They know everything else anyway) HEAVEN FORBID we get chipped and tracked to make looking up medical records and personal data simpler.

I praise the brains behind the IoT as I see the HUGE benefits that will come from it. We as Americans seem to love anything that will do more work with less effort, so cheers to you IoT; but, due to my own personal paranoid nature, I think I’ll opt out of the perks if it means selling my identity.

EXTERNAL RESOURCES

Internet of things: Internet of everything. (2015, Oct 04). Sunday Business PostRetrieved from http://search.proquest.com.ezproxy.gvsu.edu/docview/1718794014?accountid=39473Russo, G., Marsigalia, B., Evangelista, F., Palmaccio, M., & Maggioni, M. (2015). Exploring regulations and scope of the internet of things in contemporary companies: A first literature analysis. Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, 4(1), 1-13. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1186/s13731-015-0025-5

Russo, G., Marsigalia, B., Evangelista, F., Palmaccio, M., & Maggioni, M. (2015). Exploring regulations and scope of the internet of things in contemporary companies: A first literature analysis. Journal of Innovation and Entrepreneurship, 4(1), 1-13. doi:http://dx.doi.org/10.1186/s13731-015-0025-5

 

Leave a Reply

